PC senior members accuse Al-Sarraj of excluding them politically

The Address | Benghazi – Libya

TRIPOLI – Three senior members of the Presidential Council of the Tripoli-based Government of National Accord (GNA) have issued a statement accusing the Council’s chairman, Fayez Al-Sarraj, of making important decisions solely and unilaterally and abolishing the idea of partnership and consensus that was the basis for the creation of the Presidential Council.

The statement, of which The Address obtained a copy, was signed by Ahmed Maiteeq, Fathi Abdulhafeez and Abdulsalam Kajman.

The members accused Al-Sarraj of “ignoring the idea of partnership and consensus; and disregarding all official and actual Libyan parties, on top of which members of the Presidential Council, including deputies and ministers. This negligence and disregard led the entire Presidential Council to become a party to conflict rather than being a tool to the solution.”

“Your continuation with the same approach and the same policy of excluding national partners of the Presidential Council and your total dependence on transnational alliances and interim international recognition will lead to total collapse not only of the Council and its government, but of the whole country and its unity, stability, national decision and higher interests,” the members stated, addressing Al-Sarraj.

“Through this statement, we, directly and candidly, hold you responsible for the consequences of the impending collapse of state institutions, its structures and the fragmentation of the country, which will bring Libyans to ground zero, God forbid, where the use of force and weapons is the only tool available to resolve their political differences and their disparity in positions and opinions.”

The members concluded their statement by calling on Al-Sarraj to resort to reason, return to the spirit of participation and consensus and to give priority to Libyan national interests over personal and narrowly paralyzed interests, as they put it.

Statement signed by three senior members of the Presidential Council; Ahmed Maiteeq, Fathi Abdulhafeez and Abdulsalam Kajman.

Related Articles